The Saturday Mornings Of Our Discontent

April 28, 2012 § 2 Comments

Yes, venting will occur. I will redirect the hot air so as to minimize damage to peoples and property, but there is always blow-back.

I had a female customer come into the store yesterday and yell at me (she was yelling, not to hurt me, but at something, and I was just as a good as the next inanimate object) for thirty minutes.

In that time, she complained about:

  1. eBook prices r.e.: and their relative increase,
  2. How we could possibly sell a physical copy of a book for less than an eBook (the short answer is black magic. The longer answer is capitalism, which is just another form of black magic). Sadly, my answers were not sufficient.
  3. How the eReader of her choice has terrible customer support ever since they moved support from North America to the islands. She not-so-subtly indicated that although they could speak English, they could not understand English. Because, if the British experiment taught us anything, it’s that English is reserved for God-fearing Christians who aren’t Southern Europeans, Black (or “swarthy”), or Asian. That, I can only assume, still applies in the 21st-century.
  4. How much trouble she had getting a specific type of eReader cover. Angels wept at her frustrations. Everyone else, however, did not.
  5. How much trouble her girlfriend has had with her eReader, which is not only a different eReader altogether, but not one that we sell. It
  6. How tired, miserable, and lonely she is, and how much she just desperately wanted to talk with someone Whoops! Honesty, from a customer? What next, liberal democracy in Russia?

I would like to take this moment and point out that of all her five problems, I, as a person who works there, could fix none of them. None of them are even close to the problems that I am able to fix. This is the equivalent to going into a restaurant and yelling at the waiter about the weather. Equally useful too, might I add. Well, unless your waiter is a wizard who’s desperately trying to get into Broadway and has fallen on hard times (hence the waiting instead of the more lucrative wizardly work, like magic).

To top this off, my roommate had people over who kept me up until the wee hours of the morning. Normally, this would just be an annoyance on Saturdays, except that I work today. So I get to do all this(see above) over again, but with less sleep and crankiness from the day before.

Oh, and it was snowing in Toronto yesterday.

Snowing.

– Angry John is tired and already needs a nap

§ 2 Responses to The Saturday Mornings Of Our Discontent

  • beatbox32 says:

    Sorry to hear about your rotten day! I feel your frustration though as I have had many such days recently (lost my wallet, stupid stuff at work, etc). I hope the weekend ends up being more agreeable for you! 🙂

  • Tanis says:

    Just look at her as a wondrous passing of time where you had to do no real work and she got you 30 minutes closer to…

Tag! You're it! Now it's your turn to write something.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Saturday Mornings Of Our Discontent at Published Just In Time.

meta

