Some Potpourri For Your Olfactory Enjoyment

February 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

La première partie:

Yours truly: “Ma’am,was this the book you wanted? Yes? Well here, I’ll get it for you from the bottom shelf. Not the top, or the middle shelf. In fact, I will even point to it before I bend down to grab it. Here you are.”

The Wicked Stepmother: “Oh, hmm, I think this wouldn’t be appropriate. I don’t think I’ll take it.”

YT: “No problem, here, I’ll show you some other things.”

At this point, the customer places the book back on the middle shelf, backwards, and with no regard for alphabetical order. I haven’t moved, and neither has she.

YT: “Ma’am, you did just see me take this from the bottom shelf, right?”

WS: “Hold on a second, I’m getting a phone call. Hello? Yes, I can talk.”

YT: “Burn. Just that, ma’am. Burn.”

La Deuxième Partie:

Visiting Author: “Hello, I am a local author. I would like to check out how my books are doing, and sign them for you.”

YT: “Hello, local author. I am a level three bookseller, and we are always happy to see local authors. Here’s your book!”

VA: “Hmm.”

YT: “I don’t like “Hmm”. Not. One. Bit.”

VA: “You don’t have very many copies. You should get some more. And it should sell more.”

YT: “Let me explain something to you. I work in the bookstore. I do not own the bookstore, nor do I buy the books. I am not even the manager. I am not even the sub-manager. I work the floor. I have little to no say about what books we buy, and frankly, you are one of thousands of authors we carry. If I had read your book and liked it, I will support it. If not…I don’t see why I would. Or why anyone would.”

VA: “You should get some more.”

YT: “…I’ll see what I can do.”

La Partie Finale:

We carry several occult and new age books, and on the back of the of the books on palmistry there was this blurb, from Spirit and Destiny:

“[Book] has made exciting new discoveries in the field of human sexuality in the palm.”

Frankly, Spirit and Destiny, I don’t think those discoveries aren’t anything a curious teenager hasn’t already figured out. With their palms.

IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN.

Et il est fini.

§ 2 Responses to Some Potpourri For Your Olfactory Enjoyment

Tag! You're it! Now it's your turn to write something.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some Potpourri For Your Olfactory Enjoyment at Published Just In Time.

meta

