Disappointment and Marketing

August 20, 2011 § 3 Comments

So John’s job hunt continues. I had a second interview on Friday and by all accounts it went as well as it could. I didn’t get the job, but it seems I didn’t get it for reasons that were beyond me. They went with someone with more relevant experience, likely a mature hire and something that I’m not.

I’ll say I’m annoyed, but only because I need to keep searching. I’m a little surprised myself. I thought I would be more disappointed that I didn’t get the job…but I’m not. I don’t know. But this isn’t the end of the world because that job, though awesome (yes, I would like to work with historic artefacts all day every day), wouldn’t have paid particularly well and now I can look for something that will get me oodles of money.

And by oodles of money, I mean more than just above minimum wage.

In other news, the Toronto Star has a great article today that relates to marketing on the internet and children. I can’t find it online, but if you want to look for it, it’s called “Marketing’s Sinister Side” by Paul Hunter, and it’s about how the internet is used by marketers (he’s talking about Neopets. Remember them from the friggin’ stone age?) to isolate children, create addictive behaviours, and, most troubling,

“Beyond that, the sites are not only earning money…they are training kids to be mini-consumers driven to keep up on the latest purchasing trends and accept advertising and branding as part of daily life.”

As usual, Penny Arcade has beaten me to the punch.

However, in this case, I think Hunter’s getting at a scary point (scary not in the sense that it actually is terrifying, but only that it’s not something we’re consciously thinking about) about advertising: as part of daily life. You, in your connected world, are going to be constantly shilled to by people who are paid grotesque amounts of money to figure out how to squeeze more from you. And that’s natural. 

Ew. 

Well, the best ammunition is to be aware of this. I suppose it’s one of the unpleasant truths of our time, in the way that in the 9th century, rather than being shilled to be corporate toads, you would be raided by Vikings.

But, to be perfectly honest, I would prefer the Vikings. Just saying.

Peaches” by The Presidents of the United States of America

§ 3 Responses to Disappointment and Marketing

Tag! You're it! Now it's your turn to write something.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Disappointment and Marketing at Published Just In Time.

meta

